My friend Pete: His stellar good looks, witty personality, massive bank account, 6 pack abs, private jet, island in the Bahamas and my excuse to be a jackass. You know, good blog fodder

This post is not about Pete,

Although he did give me the title in conversation.  On a more “realistic” side, I’m sure none of us doubt that the above is true.  Here is a picture of us in jorts.
1935068_768801807999_3226835_n  There are much more recent photo’s as this one is about 6 years old, but I wanted to show that he’s come a long way. So here’s another one just so I don’t get punched later10292541_10102663219703309_3916495935930238961_n

He’s single too ladies.

Again though.  This isn’t about Pete.  I initially wanted to title this, “I moved to Colorado because the Boy Scouts gave me no other choice” but as stereotyping and referencing cults go, I didn’t think I needed to fit into what most people tend to think anyway about being a Boy Scout.  Ironically enough, I never actually wore the knee high socks with that awesome hat everyone always thinks we wear.

903286235_origLook at this guy. Just take a look at what he’s got going on.  If ever you wanted to slap a kid and yell virgin at the top of your lungs it would be just looking at this guy.  I mean even he looks confused, and someone painted him.  So now we have you, me, the painter, and the kid to the left here all wondering what he has on.download

Personally, I tried to make this –> the uniform.  I still can’t figure out why I was shot down, I mean, it comes with polarized sunglasses. Honestly I think it has something to do with scouts in Africa getting Malaria easier, but I thought the cod piece would take care of that.  I don’t know, I don’t get paid to market these things.  Point is this kid’s a dork.     I am however, a believer in the fact that the traditional Boy Scouts of America Uniform was designed not only for function at the time, but as a firm point of humility.

I started playing football in 5th grade.  I wasn’t great then, but I got better and by high school I played varsity.  But even with football, there were times I wanted to quit.  Some of my friends can attest to that little known fact.  When I got to high school, we were encouraged to wear our football jerseys during the season to show support and solidarity within a community of my peers.  To stand above others while wearing your uniform and to take pride in yourself, and your school.  I learned to lead a team, that you have to hit harder than the guy in front of you and that sometimes, a little blood was necessary.

I remember from my youngest years in school, up until high school we were encouraged each Friday to wear our Boy Scout uniform.  This was done to show support and solidarity within a community and among your peers.  To not stand above others while wearing your uniform but to take a moment and take pride in just yourself for a single day, as is not normally the custom or teaching of a scout.  I learned many things while in the Boy Scouts: how to be a part of a team and mold it, while remaining equal.  How to extend a hand to the person in front of you and that sometimes just helping someone up is enough to change their life in the smallest way.

The first Friday I got up to get dressed for school during football season I had a choice to make.  And for whatever reason to this day, I regret tossing aside my Boy Scout uniform to put on something that I had pride in, but in no way reflected who I was.  I got my Eagle Scout award on the eve of me turning 18. The last day you can earn the award.  I’ve never been proud of that.  And I blame this story for being too ashamed to wear the “dorky uniform” you see above.

I never saw Pete do that.

-Riding the Fine Line

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “My friend Pete: His stellar good looks, witty personality, massive bank account, 6 pack abs, private jet, island in the Bahamas and my excuse to be a jackass. You know, good blog fodder

  1. Tate,
    If you don’t continue this at least once a week, I promise to toss you in a snow bank. You may be grown, but I can still follow through on this promise.
    Thank you, in advance.
    Dean

Leave a Reply

